The purpose of the CBA Alberta Branch Council is to provide the members an opportunity for representation and input in National and Alberta Branch decisions, policies, initiatives, and projects.

The Alberta Branch Council is made up of all those members who sit on the CBA National Council and Branch Council members from across Alberta.  Council is also comprised of a number of non-voting members, including:

  • Section chairs
  • Committee chairs
  • Past Presidents
  • Representatives from Alberta Justice & Solicitor General
  • Chief Justices and Judge of the Court of Appeal of Alberta, Court of Queen’s Bench of Alberta and Provincial Court of Alberta
  • Deans of Law from the University of Alberta and University of Calgary Faculties of Law
  • Representatives from the Law Society of Alberta, Legal Education Society of Alberta, the Alberta Law Reform Institute, and the Alberta Lawyers’ Assistance Society

Even if you are not a member of Council, members can attend. You may even be eligible to vote. Contact the Alberta Branch office to enquire about being named as an alternate for a National or Branch Council member who cannot attend.